Kogle Allé 5

DK-2970 Hørsholm

Tel: +45 7730 5800


CVR/VAT#: DK29217939


Metrology is the science of measurement.

Metrology is defined by the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM) as “the science of measurement, embracing both experimental and theoretical determinations at any level of uncertainty in any field of science and technology.”

The task of the BIPM is to ensure world-wide uniformity of measurements and their traceability to the International System of Units (SI).

Metrology can be divided into three fields:

  • Scientific or fundamental metrology
  • Applied, technical or industrial metrology
  • Legal metrology

DFM is appointed to be the Danish National Metrology Institute and attends to all of the three mentioned fields within metrology.

Metrological activities, calibration, testing, measurements and traceability are valuable inputs to ensure the quality of many industrial and quality of life related activities and processes. Recognition of metrological competence at each level of the traceability chain can be established through mutual recognition agreements or arrangements, for example the CIPM MRA and ILAC MRA, and through accreditation and peer review.


The booklet “Metrology – in Short” was created to increase the awareness of metrology and to establish a common metrological frame of reference. It is meant to provide users of metrology with a transparent and handy tool to obtain metrological information.

Download the 3rd edition here



The National Metrology Institutes (NMIs) in Europe, together with the European Commission, work in the organization EURAMET (European Association of National Metrology Institutes). The mission of EURAMET is to develop and disseminate an integrated, cost effective and internationally competitive measurement infrastructure for Europe. EURAMET coordinates the cooperation of the NMIs in Europe in fields such as research in metrology, traceability of measurements to the SI units, international recognition of national measurement standards and related Calibration and Measurement Capabilities (CMC). EURAMET is responsible for the elaboration and execution of the European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP) and the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR).


The IAF (International Accreditation Forum ) is the world association of Conformity Assessment Accreditation Bodies and other bodies interested in conformity assessment in the fields of management systems, products, services, personnel and other similar programmes of conformity assessment. Its primary function is to develop a single worldwide program of conformity assessment which reduces risk for business and its customers by assuring them that accredited certificates may be relied upon. Accreditation assures users of the competence and impartiality of the body accredited.


ILAC – the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation – is an international cooperation of laboratory and inspection accreditation bodies formed in 1977 to help remove technical barriers to trade. Accreditation bodies sign regional and international arrangements to demonstrate their competence, and then assess and accredit conformity assessment bodies to the relevant standards. The international arrangements are managed by ILAC in the fields of calibration, testing, medical testing and inspection accreditation and by the IAF in the fields of management systems, products, services, personnel and other similar programmes of conformity assessment.


The OIML (Organisation internationale de métrologie légale, or International Organization of Legal Metrology) is an intergovernmental treaty organization whose membership includes Member States, countries which participate actively in technical activities, and Corresponding Members, countries which join the OIML as observers. It was established in 1955 in order to promote the global harmonization of legal metrology procedures.


ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 164 national standards bodies, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.



The IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) is the world’s leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies.